You are here

Florida Regions

For the purpose of this guide, we have split Florida into six main regions:

  • Northwest Florida (Florida Panhandle) - also known as the Emerald Coast (or "Redneck Riviera") and Big Bend from the borders with Alabama along the beautiful white sands to Apalachee Bay
  • Northeast Florida - including Jacksonville, the largest city (in land area) in the USA and the historic city of St. Augustine on the First Coast
  • Central Florida - including Orlando with its many theme parks such as the Walt Disney World Resort and the Space Coast
  • Gulf Coast - the Nature Coast in the north and the Sun Coast in the south on the Gulf of Mexico from Apalachee Bay in the north, to the Tampa Bay area and Sarasota, Fort Myers and Naples in the South
  • South Florida - the Treasure Coast and Gold Coast from Fort Pierce to Palm Beach, the vibrant Miami, Fort Lauderdale and Miami Beach metropolitan areas on the Atlantic Coast plus the Everglades
  • Florida Keys - the Florida Keys stretch all the way to the southern most tip of the Continental United States, Key West

Click here to view driving directions and a map to the major tourist attractions.

How to use the maps

To zoom in and out, either click on the plus [+] and minus [-] buttons or drag the vertical slider.

To pan around the map, either click on one of the direction arrows or click and drag the map with the mouse held down. Click the central four arrows button to re-centre the map.

Use the option buttons in the top right to view as a map, a satellite image or a hybrid satellite image with major roads superimposed.

To show/hide a small overview map, click the arrow in the bottom right hand corner of the map.