You are here

SeaWorld Praise Wave Music Festival 2018

tobyMac in concert [© CC BY-NC-SA 2.0,]
tobyMac in concert [© CC BY-NC-SA 2.0,]

SeaWorld’s Praise Wave Christian Music Festival is included in the standard admission and for 2018 it originally ran on four consecutive Saturdays, January 20, 27, February 3 and 10. SeaWorld subsequently extended the festival by including two additional Sunday concerts and extending the festival by one day to February 11. In August they announced that they would run two additional Praise Wave dates on September 15 and 22.

The event first started in 2015. Originally the event took place in March but in 2017 with the combining of the Bands, Brew & BBQ and Viva La Musica events into the new Seven Seas Food Festival, Praise Wave was moved forward to January/February.

Walt Disney World and Universal Studios have both run Christian music festivals for a number of years in the fall with their Night of Joy at the Magic Kingdom (now ended) and Rock the Universe at Universal Studios respectively, but 2015 was the first year that SeaWorld put on its own Christian music festival in Orlando. They had run a similar event in the past in San Antonio.

There are live performances from some of the top names in Christian music concluding with a special version of the Shamu show, created just for Praise Wave.

Along the Bayside Pathway there are food outlets where guests can buy cook-out food, meet up with SeaWorld characters and listen to Christian music broadcast by radio station Z88.3.

The concerts are at the Nautilus Theater at 1:30 pm and 4:00 pm. Reserved seating is available.

Reserved seating packages are from $20.00 plus tax per person on a first-come, first-served basis. Premium reserved seating packages are from $35.00 plus tax. Discounts are available for pass members.

The provisional line up for Praise Wave 2018 is as follows.

  • 20 January 2018 - Steven Curtis Chapman
  • 27 January 2018 - Lecrae
  • 3 February 2018 - Switchfoot
  • 4 February 2018 - Colton Dixon
  • 10 February 2018 - MercyMe
  • 11 February 2018 - Matthew West
  • 15 September 2018 - Michael W. Smith
  • 22 September 2018 - Newsboys